Sacajawea Audubon

2012 Birdathon Awards Announced

Ashley Martens, daughter Sadie & son Oliver receive their Carbon Neutral Award

The 2012 Sacajawea Audubon Birdathon Awards were handed out June 28th at a party held at East Gallatin Recreation Area.  A small but enthusiastic group turned out for the festivities on a beautiful summer evening.  The awards are as follows:

Most Money Raised By An Individual - Erika Epple, $225

Most Pledges By An Individual - Erika Epple, 19

Most Species Identified - Paradise Peregrines, 143 (Peter Norlander )

Most Birds Identified in an Montana IBA - Oblivious Sage Hens & One Strutter , 79 (Loreene Reid, Matt Reid, Sharon Hanton)

Sacajawea Audubon Award for Most Flickers - Birdaholics, 21 (Paulette Epple, Deb Louttit, Chuck McKay, Erika Epple)

Montana Audubon Award for Most Magpies - Wing Nuts, 176 (Paulette Epple, Scott Hancock, Martha Collins, Vickie Backus)

Best Bird Award - Burrowing Owl, seen by the Birdaholics

Carbon Neutral Award - Striking Grackles (Ashley Martens, Oliver Palmer, Sadie Palmer, Marilyn Palmer), 45 miles driven

Mentor Award - Paulette Epple

Rookie Awards - Barbara Geller, Wano Urbonas, Oliver Palmer (age 7), Sadie Palmer (age 4), Erika Epple, Deb Louttit, Chuck McKay

Birdathon rookies, Sadie & Oliver Palmer


Paulette Epple enjoys a beautiful evening at the awards party

This year's Birdathon raised over $3,000 by eight teams.  Congratulations and thank you to everyone who participated!  Special thank you to Norm Bishop who served as our judge for the Best Bird Award.

Comments (0) Trackbacks (0)

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Trackbacks are disabled.